Margo Price at Tractor Tavern Courtesy Amelia Skinner

Late-Night Seattle

Three of the city’s most happening after-hours locales 

Pike Place Market

Though vendors close up shop around 6pm, the party goes on through the night at Seattle’s historic market. Alibi Room (85 Pike St, Ste 410; seattlealibi.com) is open until 2am, with pizza upstairs and weekend DJs in the basement. Lounge-y Zig Zag Cafe (1501 Western Ave, Ste 202; zigzagseattle.com) is a true classic. Located on the Pike Street Hillclimb, the cocktail-wise crew can set you up with a tried-and-true tipple or a creative concoction like the Armistice, made with vermouth, maraschino liqueur, chartreuse, and rye. Nearby is JarrBar (1432 Western Ave; jarrbar.com), a relative newcomer that’s open from 4pm to 2am daily with a menu full of Iberian-style small plates alongside an extensive wine list. For live entertainment, catch a burlesque show at the spirited Can Can (*94 Pike St, Ste B; thecancan.com).

Capitol Hill

This central ’hood buzzes with action all day and doesn’t stop when the sun goes down. Live music venues bring in top-flight groups: Neumos (925 E Pike St; neumos.com) is a longtime favorite and hosts big, bold shows, while downstairs, sibling venue Barboza (925 E Pike St; thebarboza.com) is home to more intimate, but no less rollicking, performances. A few blocks away, nightclub Chop Suey (1325 E Madison St; chopsuey.com) has been hosting dance parties since 2002, with frequent live shows and DJ dance nights. To fuel the moves, hit up Big Mario’s (1009 E Pike St; bigmariosnypizza.com), a favorite for late-night slices on Pike Street. If a bar stool and a cocktail are more your speed, try Sun Liquor Distillery (607 Summit Avenue E; sunliquor.com) for a gin and tonic made with local booze or, for a rowdier scene, Montana (1506 E Olive Way; montanainseattle.com), which can’t be beat with its Western décor and killer tap cocktails.

Ballard

Margo Price at Tractor Tavern Courtesy Amelia Skinner

This northern neighborhood is one to frequent in the wee hours. It’s home to myriad breweries open late, like Peddler Brewing Company (1514 NW Leary Way; peddlerbrewing.com), where beers are named after bikes and there’s even a work station to fix flat tires. Catch a show at Tractor Tavern (5213 Ballard Ave NW; tractortavern.com) or a more rock-leaning set at Sunset Tavern (5433 Ballard Ave NW; sunsettavern.com)—enter through Betty’s Room, its retro-styled lounge, then head to the back for the tunes. As for bars, Hotel Albatross (2319 NW Market St; hotelalbatross.com) slings tiki drinks, and King’s Hardware (5225 Ballard Ave NW; kingsballard.com) has local beers on tap, plus wings and Skee-Ball.

*Visit Seattle Partner

SUBSCRIBE TO THE SEATTLE LOCALIST

Seattle’s best every month in your inbox

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Book a Hotel

Partner Advertisements