Sports Star of the Year Award Winners (1980-1989)


Jack Sikma
SuperSonics All-Star

Sikma was named to the NBA All-Rookie Team. Among his notable career achievements are his seven All-Star Game selections (1979-1985) and his championship ring won with the 1978–1979 World Champion SuperSonics.



Don James
Three-Time Rose Bowl Coach

James served as Head Coach of UW Football for 18 seasons, from 1975 to 1992. He led his teams to the National Championship in 1991, six Rose Bowls, an Orange Bowl title and a total of fifteen bowl games. In all, James compiled a 153-57-2 record (.726) at Washington



Chuck Nelson
UW Football All-American

Nelson was an All-American kicker at UW.  He played professionally for five seasons with the Los Angeles Rams, Buffalo Bills and the Minnesota Vikings in the National Football League.



Curt Warner
Seahawks Running Star

Warner was a dynamic running back for the Seattle Seahawks for eight seasons.  He amassed 6,844 rushing yards, 193 receptions and 63 touchdowns. Warner is a three time Pro Bowler and was inducted into the Seattle Seahawks Ring of Honor in 1994.



Chuck Knox
Seahawks Head Coach

After nine years with Seattle, Knox became the first NFL head coach to win division titles with three different teams.  He was inducted into the Seattle Seahawks Ring of Honor and is regularly under consideration for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.


Steve Largent
Seahawks Receiver

Largent was selected to the NFL Pro Bowl seven times. When he retired, Largent held all major NFL receiving records, including most receptions in a career, most receiving yards in a career, and most touchdown receptions. Largent was inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame in 1995.



Cliff McCrath
Champion Soccer Coach

McCrath was a U.S. soccer player and coach. He coached Seattle Pacific University in five NCAA Division II Championships and was the 1978 NSCAA Coach of the Year. McCrath retired ranked second on the all time collegiate coaching list with 597 wins.



Fredd Young
Seahawks Linebacker

Young played linebacker for seven seasons for the Seattle Seahawks and the Indianapolis Colts. He was selected to four Pro Bowls as a special teams captain.



John L. Williams
Seahawks Fullback

Williams played in 10 NFL seasons from 1986 to 1995. He was selected to the Pro Bowl in 1990 and 1991.



Ken Griffey Jr.
Mariners All-Star

Griffey was one of the most prolific home run hitters and defensive players of all time. He ranks the sixth all time in career home runs in Major League Baseball history and has won 10 Gold Glove awards.

More Past Winners

Partner Advertisements