Sports Star of the Year Award Winners (1950-1959)


Stan Sayres
Slo-Mo Hydro Team Captain

Sayres was a pioneer in Speed Boat Racing. He was team captain of Slo-Mo Hydro, which set many world records for boat speed.



Hugh McElhenny
UW All-American and All-Pro

A former running back in the National Football League, McElhenny played from 1952-1964. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1970.



John O’Brien
Seattle University Basketball All-American



Arnie Weinmeister
Pro Football Star

Weinmeister was a prominent defensive tackle in professional football. He went to four Pro Bowls, but with only a six-year tenure in the All-America Football Conference and National Football League, his career is one of the shortest of any Pro Football Hall of Fame member.



Arnold Riegger
Champion Marksman

Riegger represented the US in the 1960 Olympic Games. He won All-America trapshooting honors 11 times and he was inducted into the Amateur Trapshooting Association Hall of Fame in 1975. He also won 3 national championships.


Pat Lesser Harbottle
Golf Champion

Was one of the first women to play on a men’s collegiate golf team (for Seattle University in 1952). She won the 1950 U.S. Girls’ Junior, the 1953 Women’s National Collegiate Championship, the 1953 Canadian Women’s Amateur and the 1955 U.S. Women’s Amateur.



Pete Rademacher
Olympic Boxing Champion

Rademacher made boxing history by being the only man to fight for the world heavyweight championship in his first professional fight.



Joanne Gunderson Carner
US Golf Champion

A professional golfer, Carner’s 43 victories on the LPGA Tour led to her induction in the World Golf Hall of Fame.



Elgin Baylor
Seattle University Basketball

All-American An All-American at Seattle University, Baylor went on to a Hall of Fame NBA career as a player and General Manager. He played 13 seasons as a forward for the Minneapolis/Los Angeles Lakers.



Jim Owens
UW Football Coach

More Past Winners

Partner Advertisements