Sports Star of the Year Award Winners (1935-1949)


Bobby Morris
Nationally Recognized Sports Official



Al Ulbrickson
Olympic Gold Medal Rowing Coach

Ulbrickson’s UW program had a year for the ages, leading his teams to an undefeated season, a sweep at the National Championships and the Varsity-8 to Olympic Gold in the 1936 Berlin Olympics.



John Cherberg
Coaching Champion

Cherberg was the head football coach of the Washington Huskies from 1953 to 1955. His career record was 18-30-2.



Fred Hutchinson
Baseball Pitcher and Manager

Hutchinson was a major league pitcher for the Detroit Tigers and a manager for three major league teams. A victim of lung cancer, the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center was created by his brother, Dr. William Hutchinson.



Dean McAdams
UW Football Player



Dick Barrett
Rainier Pitching Star

Barrett was a pitcher for the Philadelphia Athletics (1933), Boston Braves (1934), Chicago Cubs (1943) and Philadelphia Phillies (1943-1945).



Click Clark
Outstanding Husky Trainer



Ted Garhart
Rowing Champion



Hec Edmundson
UW Coach and Administrator

Edmundson coached at the University of Idaho (1916-18) and the University of Washington (1920-47), compiling a 508-204 record in 29 seasons. Clarence S. “Hec” Edmundson Pavillion, the home to UW Basketball, was dedicated to the long-time coach in 1948.



Jim McCurdy
Football Inspirational Winner



Harry Givan
Golf Champion

A 5-time winner of the Pacific Northwest Golf Association Amateur and 4-time winner of the Seattle Amateur, won the Washington State Open in 1936, and the Northwest Open in 1942. He was inducted into the PNGA Hall of Fame in 1978.



Steve Morrissey
Conservationist, Outdoorsman



Leon Brigham
Prep Sports Coach and Administrator



George Pocock
Crew Racing Genius

Helped UW win its first intercollegiate title in 1923. One of his greatest triumphs occurred in 1936 when the Washington team won an Olympic gold medal in Germany, but he had numerous other successes as both boatman and coach until his retirement in 1963.



Gordon Glisson
Riding Champion

A top thoroughbred racing jockey, Glisson won many awards and also was the first recipient of the George Woolf Memorial Jockey Award.

More Past Winners

Partner Advertisements