Press Release

News Release
January 9, 2015

Media Contact:
Kevin Ticen
(206) 461-5803,

Camden Podesta
(206) 461-5869,


Celebrate Washington State Sports at the 2015 MTR Western Sports Star of the Years Awards Show

Honorees and Presenters Announced, Tickets Available Now


SEATTLE –The Seattle Sports Commission (SSC) presents the 2015 MTR Western Sports Star of the Year Awards Wednesday, Jan. 21, 2015 at Benaroya Hall, an event honoring Washington state’s biggest sports stars and stories of 2014.

This year’s show will be hosted by former ESPN personalities Kenny Mayne and Cindy Brunson, featuring special guest and comedian Craig Gass.

Event tickets are available now, starting at $25 with access to the 7:00 p.m. awards show and post-show party, which includes free beer and wine, as well as a special performance by a local band to be announced next week. Tickets are available online at, in person at the box office, or by calling (206) 215-4747.

The Sports Star of the Year Awards honor one male and one female athlete or coach for outstanding sports achievement in the past year or season, as well as an individual, group of individuals or a team/organization that has positively captured the attention and inspired the state through their story. 2015 honorees and nominees include:

2015 Sports Star Honorees

Presented by Jim Zorn, Steve Hoffman and Johnny O’Brien

  • Steve Gleason, Paul Allen Award
  • Milton Wright III, Wayne Gittinger Inspirational Award
  • Elgin Baylor, Royal Brougham Award
  • Steve Raible, Keith Jackson Award

Male Sports Star of the Year Nominees

Presented by Bill Kruger and Kasey Keller

  • Clint Dempsey (Sounders FC)
  • Connor Halliday (WSU Football)
  • Obafemi Martins (Sounders FC)
  • Kyle Seager (Mariners)
  • Earl Thomas (Seahawks)
  • Shaq Thompson (UW Football)


Female Sports Star of the Year Nominees

Presented by Christal Engle and Rosalynn Sumners

  • SooBin Kim (UW Golf)
  • Kim Little (Reign FC)
  • Kelsey Plum (UW Basketball)
  • Tia Presley (WSU Basketball)
  • Lianna Sybeldon (UW Volleyball)
  • Stephanie Verdoia (SU Soccer)


Sports Story of the Year Nominees

Presented by Gary Payton and Sue Bird

  • Seattle Seahawks’ Super Bowl
  • UW Men’s Crew 4th National Title
  • Seattle Mariners’ Resurgence
  • Seattle Sounders’ MLS Support Shield
  • Seattle Reign to NWSL Championship Game
  • Husky Football’s All-American Trio

To learn more about the MTR Western Sports Star of the Year and this year’s nominees, honorees and presenters, visit


About Seattle Sports Commission:

The Seattle Sports Commission (SSC), a division of Visit Seattle, is committed to making Seattle a world-class sports community.  Sports can bring the world to Seattle and bring our region together.  A strong sports culture can strengthen local businesses, local kids, and local pride.


# # #


Seattle’s best every month in your inbox

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Book a Hotel

Partner Advertisements